Megan's Classroom Connection

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homeschooling April 19, 2010

I read a blog done by a mother who homeschools her children. While this mother does in fact seem to be doing a great job, as far as I can tell, it makes me wonder, are her children losing out on the typical school experience?

This mother seems to have great resources that are rich and educational and she also blogs that her children are involved in various activities with other children in the community, but I still feel like they are missing out. Some studies have shown that homeschooling is a great way for children to learn and I agree to an extent. I think that there are some children out there, children with speical needs or who have been through a particulary intense trauma,  who would benefit from a more private education. But I think the goal should be to get that student back into mainstream education.

Another question about homeschooling I have is how does the parent know she or he is actually capeable of teaching a student who is perhaps past the middle school level.  How will that student cope when he or she enters the real world? Will the social skills needed to succeed be there?

I have never talked to a home schooled parent or child and I supose that is the real place I should be directing my questions.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

